top of page

How AI Is Taking Over The World And Why My Grandpa Was Ready Before Me


As AI continues to evolve, human evolution has not. Our brains are still wired for survival and AI is far beyond that. Our brains have not yet evolved for Social Media or AI so we revert to our evolutionary pre-selves and act accordingly.


AI is improving every day and our brains won't catch up for thousands of years. My Grandfathers's last gift to me was a book called "Future Shock". I'm still terrified to open it and getting past page 1 has been an emotional burden I've avoided but I asked AI to summarize it for me. Here was the answer it gave me.

AI is taking over the world and society is moving way too fast to keep up. I pinned the tweet below when I realized how much AI has impacted my life without me even realizing previously. My twitter profile picture was created by an AI - It took 20 pictures of me and crafted profile pictures for me.

When I discovered ChatGPT, I was in awe. I could not believe that one app could write my Facebook Ads for me and could amalgamate every book and condense it for me. I could not believe the power in AI and then I took a look at its history...


I found out that Chess - a "human's game"- became an AI's game back when I was born - 1997. What this means - AI has been kicking humans' asses since '97 at the most complex game most humans can conceive of. That's something to think about.


I thought back to my math classes in high school and remembered the rate at which rate changes from Calculus derivatives. I didn't think it had any use then but it explained this concept of technology change to me perfectly years later.


Technology improves as time goes on but it improves exponentially meaning the rate at which it improves also improves. Technology is going to start creating itself and that is a scary thought for some but an intriguing one for others.


AI runs everything you do and it will increasingly play a bigger and bigger part in your life. For example: Social media algorithms are crazy "good" and are improving every day. They measure exactly how long you look at an image and will show you more images like that based upon the preferences of millions of other users. And you wonder why Social Media is addicting? TikTok usage is going up especially amongst teenagers and early adults. Why? The algorithm is getting better - exponentially.


So what do we do to keep up with the evolution of AI...


What To Do About The AI Takeover

  1. Keep up with your growth as a human being. Strive to be better every day. Keep yourself healthy, wealthy and wise. Do the best job you can to be better as a human being because, remember, AI has been kicking our ass since '97. Learn to use AI tools that will make life easier and choose a couple you like that will improve your life.

  2. Ask not for better answers but look within for better questions. A tool like ChatGPT can give you any answer but the person that asks it the better questions will win. That takes experimentation and wisdom.

  3. Stay connected to other humans and let the computers aid you in this quest. AI does not have emotion. It is pure logic operating on binary code. AI can not interact with you the same way a human could. Step away from Instagram and stop letting its algorithm control your social ineptitude. Go out to a coffee shop and introduce yourself to some people.

  4. Use AI to create. Create more and get your name out there. Tools like Canva use computers to perfectly align your text and images. Use tools like "Beatoven" to create music for your videos. Use tools like "Grammarly" to edit your blog posts. Create. Create. Create some more.


AI is taking over the world but that can be a good thing. Use it effectively and you will conquer, don't use it at all and you will fall behind.


Thanks So Much For Reading

- TJ

コメント


bottom of page